Calling All Volunteers! – Announcement About Some New Changes

Hey everyone! I’ve got an important announcement to make concerning the convention and how things are going to run a little differently this year over last year.

First off I would like to give a warm good-bye to my business partner Karson Huffman who has been working with me on convention since it first started over a year ago. He has given his official notice of resignation and as of next month will be attending Anime St. George 2010 simply as a panelist and normal attendee. Because of his busy life schedule he simply does not have the time to dedicate to Anime SG. I wish him the best of luck on his journeys and I will strive to make Anime St. George the best damn anime convention he will ever attend.

Now, that brings me to my second announcement. I am currently looking for some extra volunteers that will be willing to help me out the day of the convention. The job will include helping to set up in the morning and helping co-host a few panels and basically picking up any of the slack which I can’t manage on my own. A major thing I will need help with is setting up and hosting the masquerade.

We are also currently looking for people willing to to help judge the Cosplay Contest/Masquerade.

If you are interested or know someone who is interested, please comment back here with your name and email or by some means in which I can get in contact with you. You can also email me at okami AT animesg.com. Accepted Volunteers will be compensated with a convention pass, couch to crash on (in the lobby) maybe a T-shirt if we can find some extra cash to get some made. You will also get your name in the program for your wonderful help. ^_^

About A x e l - F

Event Planner for Okami Promotions. Plans and coordinates various fandom conventions including: OkamiCon - Mesquite's First Anime, Comic and Gaming Convention. Anime St. George - Southern Utah's Anime Convention.

Posted on June 15, 2010, in Announcements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. So does this mean that the people who voulenteered for Panel’s might get someone to help them? I could also help with the co-hosting panel’s along with my own if anyone wants help and I’ll do anything else to help. Just a warning haha I’m not storng so asking me to carry stuff won’t help either of us hahah

  2. What I mean is that people who help host panels may be helping out with a few other things around the convention. Mostly helping with panel set up and maybe helping me co-host a few panels.

    If we do carry things they wont’ be heavy. Just moving a few chairs around to make room for the dance. The hotel will take care of most of the major lifting and set up. I’m just looking for a few extra hands to pick up some of the slack that I can’t cover myself.

  3. I’d be happy to help judge the cosplay contest/masquerade. I don’t know about helping set up, since I’ll be busy setting my booth up, but the contest I can do!

    • Thanks Kimber! That would be wonderful to have you as a guest judge. Setting up really isn’t going to be a problem like I said. The early morning stuff is easy and light and I can handle it myself and the Dealer’s Room will be closed before the Masq anyways. 🙂

      I’ll put you on as a judge then. ❤

  4. It’d be fun to help with the Cosplay contest/masquerade too I’m just full of excitment so I would like to help in any way ahah let me know when you know

    • Thanks for the offer Mariah. I’m going to get all of the information together and see what all needs to be done. I’ll most likely hold a meeting early that morning (because most of everyone will already be there to set up for booths and whatnot) so we can cover everything.

Leave a Reply

