Four Days and Counting

…because I can’t think up a better title.

I don’t know. I just have this strange urge to post on the blog every day until the convention is actually here. Perhaps it is to keep my sanity or by reminiscing about last year and thinking how much more epic this year is going to be. Last year was fun, but because I had no idea what in the bloody hell I was doing, how things would turn out, I didn’t get a lot of time to enjoy myself at my own event so I’ll be looking forward to that.

Even though I was hoping to take the week off, it seems I still have a bit of a to-do list that I need to take care of:

  • Need to have my mother proof the programs.
  • Actually print the programs and get them folded/stapled.
  • Need to organize music playlist for panel/lobby/dance and burn them to CDs.
  • Paint two different event signs that will go up outside Abbey Inn starting on Thursday Morning.
  • Need to somehow make it to the local highs schools to hand out fliers.

ASG 2009: Attendees from last year's event whom I became good friends with and are now on staff this year.

x_X It’s not as bad as it could be since I did get a lot done early. The main thing I am waiting on is for my mother to proof the programs so I can get them finished. The Music and Sign painting is something easy to do and getting to the high schools…if it happens it happens. I’m not going to freak out if it doesn’t. That’s just something my mom wants me to do. Aside from that, everything else seems to be going swimmingly. I got the scrip for our Opening Ceremonies and Half-Time Masque Skit on Saturday and they are absolutism hilarious. The Activities Team and I are all doing Vampire Knight Cosplays. So far we plan on having a Headmaster Cross (myself) as well as a Yuki Cross, Zero Kiriyu and Vampire Aido (can’t remember his last name.) All kinds of hilarity is sure to ensue!

About A x e l - F

Event Planner for Okami Promotions. Plans and coordinates various fandom conventions including: OkamiCon - Mesquite's First Anime, Comic and Gaming Convention. Anime St. George - Southern Utah's Anime Convention.

Posted on September 21, 2010, in Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you’ve got a lot of stuff to work on still! I think it would also be a great idea to pass flyers out at the high schools. That would give the convention a lot more publicity towards an age-appropriate crowd. This will be my first dealer’s booth so I’m anticipating a positive and educating experience, haha. 🙂

    • Don’t worry Blakeley, we’ll take care of you. 🙂 I’ve tried to have everything our dealers need in our little dealer’s packet that will be waiting for you at your table. It most defiantly will be positive and educational. I’ve learned so much just from the mash up that was our first year to a second year that is going much smoother.

      Advertising is also half of the game so I do kind of hope I’m able to get out to the high schools. It’s just crunch time right now and I don’t think I’ll be able to make it out there until about Wednesday. >.< For better or worse, what will happen happens. Like they say, don't sweat the petty thing and don't pet sweaty things.

Leave a Reply

